Indiana couple’s fire insurance lawsuit revived after insurer denied claim over suspected arson

Read the original at Times of India ↗
Cite

TOI World Desk. (2026, October 24). Indiana couple’s fire insurance lawsuit revived after insurer denied claim over suspected arson. Times of India. https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/world/us/in-2020-an-indiana-couples-barn-style-home-was-damaged-by-a-fire-investigators-said-was-deliberately-set-the-insurer-denied-their-claim-but-an-appeals-court-has-now-revived-their-lawsuit-over-the-disputed-coverage/articleshow/135168872.cms

Dated from the outlet's own feed. Check the original for its byline.

Times of India · collected 2026-10-24 · by TOI World Desk

Quick Summary

In November 2020, Antonne and Lisa Gose’s barn-style property in Richmond, Indiana, was damaged by a suspected arsonist while they were out of state. Their insurer, Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, denied their claims for fire insurance due to suspicions of arson and the couple's refusal to authorize access to storage records. After initially losing their lawsuit against the insurer, on October 23, 2026, the Indiana Court of Appeals reversed this decision, allowing both breach-of-contract and bad-faith claims to proceed based on unresolved factual disputes regarding compliance with insurance policies and claim handling.
Written locally by qwen2.5:14b on 2026-10-24, using this article's own text rather than the other coverage of the same event (that is the story summary below).

AI analysis runs on qwen2.5:14b, locally

Story summary

In November 2020, a fire damaged Antonne and Lisa Gose's barn-style property in Richmond, Indiana, which included a two-storey structure with living spaces, garages, and greenhouses. Investigators concluded the fire was deliberately set but did not identify the responsible party; the couple denied involvement as they were out of state at the time. Their insurer, Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, rejected their claim due to suspected arson and the couple's failure to authorize record access from a storage facility.

In October 2026, the Indiana Court of Appeals reversed an earlier trial court decision, allowing the Goses' lawsuit against the insurance company for breach of contract and bad faith to proceed. The appellate court ruled that disputes over whether the couple substantially complied with their insurance policies and whether the insurer acted in good faith remained unresolved, paving the way for further legal action but not guaranteeing a payout.

The insurer's rejection was partly based on suspicious evidence such as the couple’s low bank balance at the end of October 2020 and an uncorroborated tip regarding a suspected individual discussing an "insurance job."

Written for “Indiana Fire Insurance Lawsuit Revived” on 2026-10-24, grounded in this article and the 0 other(s) covering the same event.
Why this leaning score
This article does not take a side on a contested political question, so it has no leaning score. That is an answer rather than a gap: a match report or a rescue can be warmly or critically written without being left or right, and scoring it anyway is how approval of a subject gets recorded as a political position.
No political leaning scored for article 104078 · logged 2026-10-24

Story

📰 Indiana Fire Insurance Lawsuit Revived
Crime & Law · 1 article(s) covering the same event.

Compared with similar articles

Nothing to compare against. No article is close enough to this one for the pipeline to have linked or judged the pair.
How this article was measured signals, leaning charts, publisher record, byline, topics and claims

Signals How these are calculated →

Claims extracted
50
sentences that state something as happening or true
Uncertain
30%
15 of 50 hedged ("reportedly", "may", "according to")
Leaning
not political
takes no side on a contested political question
Publisher signals
59/100
Times of India's corrections and hedging, across everything collected from it. Not a measure of accuracy.
Outlets on this story
1
Crime & Law
Same framing elsewhere
1
articles that frame the event the way this one does
Analyzed 2026-10-24 · how these are computed

How this is being covered How these are calculated →

Article leaning vs. publisher reliability
Source leaning vs. consistency

Publisher

Times of India · 3242 article(s) · 2 correction(s) detected
Running correction rate · 2 correction(s)

Who wrote this

TOI World Desk
1150 article(s) here · 1 carrying a prediction
🔮 The contents policy had broader wording that could cover the requested authorisation.
🔮 Although the wreck was not newly discovered in the historical sense, the sighting offered a rare opportunity to observe a piece of regional maritime heritage that many visitors might never realise lies beneath the water.
🔮 Hatton counters that the world might never have learned of Nanotyrannus without professional dinosaur hunters.
🔮 Craig has responded to the story with humour, joking that the spirit might have to be offered a pint when the pub reopens.
🔮 According to the paper, SWAT reproduced the magnitude, timing and variation of streamflow at daily and monthly scales, allowing the researchers to investigate how much of the observed change could be associated with afforestation.
🔮 In a May 2024 profile, Richmond Family Magazine reported that she had struggled with anxiety and depression during middle school and had been hospitalised for mental health treatment towards the end of the Covid-19 pandemic.
🔮 But in May 2024, Family Business announced a major change.
🔮 Researchers also analysed microbial mats for evidence of earlier flooding, finding indications that similar events may have periodically influenced the lake’s carbon cycling over thousands of years.
🔮 Tunnels may restrict their sightlines and movement, while the size of an animal's antlers can make narrow structures particularly unsuitable.
🔮 Stonehenge replica seeks relocation after years at Natural Bridge In May 2016, Foamhenge stood on land that was set to become part of Natural Bridge State Park.
Wire or desk byline, not an individual reporter.
Also by TOI World Desk
Nothing else under this byline is closely related to this article, so these are simply their most recent.
All 1150 articles by TOI World Desk →

Topics

Indiana Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance Law Justia Richmond the Indiana Court of Appeals

Subjects

Goses PERSON · 5× Antonne PERSON · 3× the Indiana Court of Appeals ORG · 2× EFI Global ORG · 1× Indiana GPE · 1× Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance ORG · 1× Lisa Gose PERSON · 1× Richmond GPE · 1× Steve Cottingham PERSON · 1× The Richmond Fire Department ORG · 1×

Narrative

The insurer also had evidence it considered suspicious, including the couple’s low bank balance at the end of October 2020, the storage-unit rental and an uncorroborated tip alleging that a suspected individual had discussed an “insurance job.”
framing: mixed · carried by 1 article(s) · first seen 2026-10-24
🔮 The contents policy had broader wording that could cover the requested authorisation.

Claims (50 extracted, 15 hedged)

In November 2020, a fire damaged Antonne and Lisa Gose’s barn-style property in Richmond, Indiana. asserted
fire → damage → Richmond
Investigators concluded that the fire had been deliberately set but did not identify who was responsible. asserted
who → conclude → ?
The couple said they were out of state when it happened and denied involvement. asserted
it → say → involvement
Their insurer, Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, denied their claims, citing suspected arson and the couple’s failure to authorise access to records from a storage facility. uncertain
insurer → deny → facility
The Goses sued for breach of contract and bad faith, but a trial court ruled for the insurer. asserted
court → sue → insurer
On October 23, 2026, the Indiana Court of Appeals reversed that decision, allowing both claims to proceed. uncertain
claims → reverse → decision
The court found that factual disputes remained over whether the couple had substantially complied with the insurance policies and whether the insurer had handled their claims in good faith. uncertain
insurer → find → faith
The ruling does not guarantee an insurance payout; those issues remain unresolved. asserted
issues → guarantee → payout
Investigators concluded the fire was deliberate According to Law Justia, the couple’s property included a two-storey barn-style structure with a small residence, an unfinished garage and storage space, along with two greenhouses. uncertain
property → conclude → greenhouses
The Richmond Fire Department responded early on November 16, 2020. asserted
Department → respond → November
Firefighters found a melted red container resembling a gasoline container, and material recovered from the residence tested positive for gasoline. asserted
material → find → gasoline
An independent investigator, Steve Cottingham of EFI Global, examined the scene for the insurer. asserted
investigator → examine → insurer
He also reviewed surveillance footage from a neighbouring property showing a flash at the front entrance and a person moving towards a vehicle. asserted
He → review → vehicle
In a report dated December 29, 2020, Cottingham concluded that gasoline had been poured throughout the interior before the vapours were ignited by someone outside the main entrance. asserted
vapours → date → entrance
The fire department also determined that the fire had been deliberately set. asserted
fire → determine → ?
The investigation did not identify the person who started it. asserted
who → identify → it
The Goses said they were out of state at the time. asserted
they → say → time
The insurer’s special investigator, Amy Delp, acknowledged that the couple provided documents supporting their travel and that neither appeared to be the person seen in the footage. asserted
neither → acknowledge → footage
Both consistently denied involvement. asserted
Both → deny → involvement
The disputed storage-unit records Photo: Canva The insurer’s investigation focused partly on belongings the Goses had moved out of the building before the fire. asserted
Goses → dispute → fire
Bank statements showed recurring payments to SmartStop Self-Storage. asserted
statements → show → Storage
Lisa initially denied that the couple had a storage unit, then said it belonged to Antonne’s father. asserted
it → deny → father
Records obtained by the insurer showed two units rented in Antonne’s name. asserted
Records → obtain → name
One was rented on October 10, 2020, and closed on November 24. asserted
One → rent → November
The insurer asked the couple to sign an authorisation allowing it to obtain records from the facility and determine when the unit had been accessed. asserted
unit → ask → facility
It also requested a credit report and phone records for November 2020. asserted
It → request → November
The couple provided phone records beginning on November 16, the day of the fire, but did not provide the full period requested. asserted
couple → provide → period
They never signed the storage-records authorisation, despite repeated requests. asserted
They → sign → requests
Their lawyer withdrew from the case in August 2021, citing their failure to fulfil the insurer’s requests. asserted
lawyer → withdraw → requests
Indiana Farm Bureau denied both claims on January 14, 2022, saying its investigation led it to believe the couple had caused, arranged, participated in or directed the loss. uncertain
couple → deny → loss
It also cited their failure to cooperate. asserted
It → cite → failure
The Goses filed suit in November 2022. asserted
Goses → file → November
Why the appeals court revived the lawsuit In September 2025, the Wayne Superior Court granted summary judgment to the insurer, finding that the couple’s failure to provide the storage authorisation breached policy requirements and that the insurer had a good-faith basis to dispute the claims. uncertain
insurer → revive → claims
The Goses appealed. asserted
Goses → appeal → ?
The Indiana Court of Appeals examined their contract and bad-faith claims separately. uncertain
Court → examine → claims
On the contract claim, the appeals court distinguished between the couple’s commercial policy and their contents policy. uncertain
court → distinguish → policy
The commercial policy required access to the insureds’ own books and records, which the court said did not extend to an authorisation for records held by an outside storage company. asserted
court → require → company
The contents policy had broader wording that could cover the requested authorisation. uncertain
that → have → authorisation
However, the court found that the evidence left a question over whether the couple had substantially complied with their obligations. asserted
couple → find → obligations
The insurer’s investigator had acknowledged that the couple attended examinations under oath, provided records and answered questions. asserted
couple → acknowledge → questions
…and 10 more, not listed.
💬Give feedback
🕘History 🎫Support